Back to News

24th July 2019

49th AGM Sri Lanka Shippers' Council 2019-2020

Sri Lanka Shippers' Council held its 49th Annual General Meeting on 26th July 2019 at 5.30 pm at The Barnes, Jetwing Colombo Seven, Colombo followed by the Post Business Session and cocktails. Mr. Mangala P. B. Yapa, Chairman of the Board of Investment of Sri Lanka graced the occasions as the Chief Guest and the keynote speaker.

Sri Lanak Shippers' Council Committee

Mr. Mr. Suren Abeysekera was elected as the Chairman and Mr. Russell Juriansz and Mr. Imalka Kumarapeli were elected as the 1st Vice Chairman and the 2nd Vice Chairmen respectively for the year 2019/2020.

The Sri Lanka Shippers' Council is the apex body representing Sri Lankan Shippers, which was established in March 1966 to protect and promote the interests of shippers. It was the first National Shippers' Council to be set up in Asia and was formed on a request made in 1965 by the local Committee of the Ceylon/Continental Conference, and a subsequent request made by the Director of Commerce in January 1966, to the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce. The Council is also a founder member of the Association of Shippers' Councils of Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka (ASCOBIPS), founded in 1981 and the Asian Shippers' Council, founded in 2004. Sri Lanka Shippers' Council has become a member of the Global Shippers Forum in April 2015. The Global Shippers' Forum (GSF) is the world's leading trade association for shippers engaged in international trade moving goods by all modes of transport.

AGM 2019 Minutes

Back to News


Solution by Nidro IT Solutions

All rights Reserved. Sri Lanka Shippers Council